Friday, October 2, 2015

Russell E. Train Fellowships for Master’s or Doctoral Degree in Conservation, 2016(for Tanzania Students)

Russell E. Train Fellowships

Russell E. Train Fellowships support individuals pursuing a master’s or doctoral degree in conservation. Each year, WWF supports committed conservationists from target countries to receive financial support for their studies and field research. Applicants can apply to attend any u
niversity around the world and must return to their home countries to work in conservation for at least two years after completing their degree.
See below for competition guidelines, eligibility criteria, selection process information, and access to the application.


MyanmarFellowship (Application Deadline: September 30, 2015) 
Building Capacity in Wildlife Science and Management
Eligible countries: Bhutan, Cameroon, Democratic Republic of Congo, Indonesia, Kenya, Malaysia, Namibia, Tanzania, Vietnam and Zambia

Building Capacity for Freshwater Conservation
Eligible countries: Bolivia, Cambodia, Guatemala, Honduras, Laos, Nepal, Paraguay, Uganda, and Zambia

Conservationin Mozambique
Eligible countries: Mozambique only

Current& Aspiring University Faculty for Conservation
Select countries in Africa, Asia, and Latin America. For a full list of eligible countries please review application guidelines.



To be eligible for a Train Fellowship, you must meet the following criteria. Please note that eligibility criteria can vary by competition. Please also refer to specific competition guidelines to ensure you are eligible.
  • You must be a citizen and legal permanent resident of an eligible country.
  • You must have at least two years of conservation-related work or research experience.
  • You must have a demonstrated commitment to working in conservation in an eligible country.
  • Your research or academic program must address one of the focus areas listed in the guidelines.
  • You must be enrolled in, admitted to, or have applied to a master’s or PhD program anywhere in the world.
  • You must plan to begin your studies no later than January 2017.
  • You must commit to working for at least two years in your home country after the completion of your degree.
  • You must not have received a Train Fellowship or Scholarship in the past. Professional Development Grant recipients are eligible to apply.
  • You must notify EFN if you are a WWF employee, consultant, or previous EFN grant recipient.
  • You must submit all required documents by the application deadline (March 1, 2016).



Train Fellows are selected through a competitive, merit-based process. An independent, interdisciplinary panel of experts is convened in each country to review applications and to identify the top candidates based on the following criteria:
  • Professional qualifications as evidenced by previous and current conservation-related positions, references from colleagues in the field, publications, and other sources.
  • Demonstrated leadership through involvement in community and volunteer activities, the workplace, local and national government, and other areas.
  • Prior academic achievement as shown by grades, academic awards, and references from professors.
  • Motivation and commitment to contribute to conservation in a participating country and to share what is learned with others in their field and in their home communities.
  • Potential impact of proposed study/research on conservation efforts in the home country or region.



Applications for the 2016 fellowship competitions are now open. Click here to apply. The application deadline is March 1, 2016. 



For more information on Train Fellowships and other funding opportunities through EFN, please e-mail us at
EFN's Facebook group is also an opportunity to learn about grant availability and other program news.

No comments:

Post a Comment